Home Page

Governing Board

The Governing Board at St Alban’s C.E Primary and Nursery re-constituted in September 2015 in line with statutory guidelines.

In September 2015, the Board decided to re-organise with the main purpose being to ensure all governors were skilled in all aspects of governance and fully understood their roles and responsibilities.

The Board meets seven times a year.  Every meeting has a very clear focus, as identified by the calendar, to ensure the board is able to be strategic in its approach and challenge effectively.

A standing committee has been set up to address key issues related to finance and personnel.  The Headteacher, chairperson, vice- chair and an experienced governor with finance expertise sits on the committee.

A pay committee meets at the beginning of every academic year to review staff’s pay before presenting recommendations to the Board for ratification.

The Governing Board has a clear understanding of its roles and responsibilities.  Members keep their knowledge up to date by attending training and reading and know that they form part of the leadership of the school.


Governing Board Academic Year 2016-2017


Father Christopher Smith - Chair  (Vicar of St Alban's Church - Foundation Governor)

Giles Wright  -Vice Chair(LA Governor)

Ann Nkune (Parent Governor)

Mary Thorne (Headteacher)

Charlotte Faulty (Staff Governor)

Father Guy Willis ( South Camden DS - Foundation Governor)

Gloria Jeffers (St Alban's Church PCC - Foundation Governor) 

Nuran Mert  (Parent Governor)

Nigel Palmer (St Alban's Church PCC - Foundation Governor) 


3 vacancies - 2 x LDBS 1x PCC   If you are interested please contact the school


Denis Swaine - Clerk to the Governors