Home Page


The EYFS Curriculum

Children in Nursery and Reception follow the EYFS curriculum.  Early years learning concentrates on 7 areas split between prime and specific areas of learning.

The prime areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Teaching is often done through play, where the child learns about subjects and other people through games.

Staff also observe and support the characteristics of effective learning – how children learn.  Evidence shows that the following characteristics of young children's learning enables them to become effective lifelong learners.


Playing and exploring

Active learning

Creating and thinking critically


The EYFS classes follow the whole school topics, In the Autumn term children learn about 'My Identity' and 'My Heritage', in the Spring term children learn about 'Our Community- Past' and 'Our Community Present' and in the Summer Term they learn about 'Our World- Global' and 'Our World - Environmental'.